The Center for Psychiatric Health

center.buildingThe Center for Psychiatric Health is an outpatient division of Passavant Area Hospital.

The professional staff is experienced in treating a variety of difficult emotional and behavioral problems, including:

•  Depression, seasonal or situational depression, bipolar or major depression.
•  Anxiety, generalized anxiety, panic phobias and obsessive compulsive disorder.
•  Childhood or developmental disorders, ADHD, depression, anxiety disorders, behavior problems, adjustment and emotional problems.
•  Marital and family relationship issues.
•  Substance-related disorders.
•  Grief and loss.

The Center is professionally staffed with adult and child psychiatrists, plus multiple-licensed psychotherapists. Primary care physician referral is preferred.


Pravesh Basnet, M.D. – Child and Adult Psychiatrist
Kamna Handa, M.D.
– Child and Adult Psychiatrist
Sheila Thomas, M.D. –
Board Certified, Adult Psychiatrist

The Center’s staff includes:
William Loveland, L.C.S.W.
Julie Wolff Tennill, L.C.S.W.
William Tennill, L.C.S.W.
Tracy Stucker, L.C.S.W.
Russell Taylor, Ph. D.

1600 West Walnut
Jacksonville, IL 62650
(Southeast corner of Passavant campus)

Phone: (217) 245-7275
Fax: (217) 245-7427

Walking for Wellness Starts November 7

Posted on: October 27, 2016

Walking for Wellness at the Jacksonville High School Bowl returns for another season of exercise and fellowship on Monday, November 7. Walking for Wellness allows individuals who walk regularly for exercise to do so even during inclement weather. The Bowl, located at 215 South Church, will be open 7 a.m. to 1 p.m., each day school is in session. The program is closed during school holidays (including Thanksgiving and Christmas vacation) and any day school is not in session. Walking for Wellness is also offered year round at First Christian Church, 2106 South Main, in South Jacksonville. First Christian is currently on their fall/winter schedule, offering walking hours from 12:30 to 3:30 p.m. Walkers there should use the south entrance. Participants should sign in each day they walk. Jogging is not permitted, and walking is limited to the concourse around the top of the Bowl and to designated areas at the church. No registration is required. Walking for Wellness is made available through the cooperation of Jacksonville School District #117, First Christian Church, and Passavant Area Hospital. For additional details on Walking for Wellness, please call Passavant’s Marketing and Communications Department, 245-9541, extension 3129.

Copyright © 2015. Passavant Area Hospital. All Rights Reserved

Back to Top