Scott Boston, MD
President and Chief Executive Officer, Passavant Area Hospital

Marshall Hale, Chief Medical Officer, Passavant Area HospitalScott Boston, MD, was appointed president and CEO of Passavant Area Hospital, effective June 3, 2019. Prior to becoming president and CEO, he served as chief medical officer at Passavant.

A Morgan County resident, Boston earned a medical degree from SIU School of Medicine in 2000 and completed his residency at OSF St. Francis Medical Center in Peoria, where he served as chief resident. He earned a master of science degree in animal science in 1996 and a bachelor of science degree in agricultural science in 1994, both from the College of Agriculture at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

He first joined the Passavant medical staff in 2004. He has served in multiple physician leadership roles at both PAH and Memorial Medical Center, including medical director of the Passavant Emergency Department and assistant medical director of the MMC Emergency Department. He has also served on the board of directors of Mid-America Emergency Physicians since 2006, and is a clinical assistant professor in the Division of Emergency Medicine in the Department of Surgery at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine.

The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the ultimate policy-making authority for the governance of Passavant Area Hospital. The Board of Directors is comprised of 16 members, each serving a four-year term. Directors are elected by the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is comprised of representatives from 139 churches in the Passavant service area. The Board of Directors meets every other month on the third Monday at the hospital. Following is a list of the current members of the Passavant Area Hospital Board of Directors:

Douglas A. Awe

Douglas A. Awe


Reginald Benton

Reginald H. Benton

Past Chair

Keith Bradbury

Keith O. Bradbury

Barbara Farley, PhD

Barbara A. Farley, PhD

Dan Hallam, MD

Daniel M. Hallam, MD, PhD

James Hinchen, MD

James E. Hinchen, MD

Greg Lepper

Gregory D. Lepper

Maryjane Million

Maryjane Million

Peter Russotto, MD

Peter D. Russotto, DPM

Gary Scott

Gary W. Scott

Chair Elect

Nancy Spangenberg

Nancy Spangenberg

Kelly Staake

Kelly Staake


Stephen Symons

Stephen Symons

Thomas Veith

Thomas L. Veith


Brad Wilson

Bradley Wilson